Dec 1, 2011

Posted by | 1 Comment

Cthulhu Christmas Calendar Review

Cthulhu Christmas Calendar Review

cthulhu_christmas_calendar01

Everyone has had or at least heard of advent calendars. Normally offering pieces of chocolatey goodness, they help kids (and adults) to count down the days until Christmas. Red Wasp Design has taken this childhood memory and given it a novel twist by infusing the festive calendar with the Cthulhu mythos. Fans of Lovecraft and Cthulhu will likely enjoy this, but will those who are not familiar with the cult-horror fiction enjoy this unique advent calendar?

Instead of treating you with some chocolate, Cthulhu Christmas Calendar gives you one of 25 new and original artwork and a multiple choice question related to the art of the day that will test your knowledge of the mythos surrounding the horror/sci-fi universe of H.P. Lovecraft’s cult-classic literature. The quiz starts on December 1st and concludes on Christmas Day. On the final day is when your score will be revealed and partakers of the quiz can find out how they rank.

The artwork really does stand out and would make even Cthulhu proud. It is a nice gift to be presented with the vibrant and high-quality art each day. I loved how well Red Wasp Design was able to merge a holiday theme with the likes of Cthulhu and Nyarlathotep. Another thing about this app is the background music. It’s catchy and doesn’t seem to overstay its welcome.

Overall, this isn’t truly a game but rather an interactive app to help alleviate the boredom of having to wait for Santa Claus to leave some nice goodies under the tree. Cultists of the Cthulhu mythos will enjoy this app, and those who might not have had the chance to read any of H.P. Lovecraft’s terrific works should become intrigued. I know that I, a rather novice follower of Cthulhu, was left craving more about this mythical beast and the world that surrounds him. At the least this advent calendar will tide gamers over until we learn more about Red Wasp Design’s upcoming iOS RPG, Call of Cthulhu: The Wastelands. Cthulhu Christmas Calendar is available for download at this time and the countdown starts today.

Cthulhu Christmas Calendar

Platform: iPod Touch (reviewed), iPad, iPhone, Android
Genre: Advent Calendar
Release Date: November 16, 2011
Developer: Red Wasp Design
Publisher: Red Wasp Design
ESRB Rating: 12+
MSRP: $ .99 for iPhone/Android; $1.99 for iPad



7.5